Last night was my first night hike in quite a while, I was actually feeling a little skittish about the whole thing as I walked up the trail towards Church Cove. As usual there were plenty of noises in the bushes, probably mice, I see mice all the time during my daytime hikes. The moon was still below the eastern horizon as I approached the cliffs, when the beam coming from my small headlamp quietly surrendered to the night… Not good.

Of course, I plan for these things so I had a backup flashlight in my backpack, this is not a head mounted light but a big old heavy mag-lite I bought a long time ago. As soon as I turned it on I was greeted by two bright glowing eyes staring at me from just a few steps away and my heart skipped a beat; I don’t know who was startled more, me or the poor fox that quickly ran off after being blinded by this sudden floodlight.

I sat down on the cliffs to regain my composure and night vision, the sound of waves pounding the coast far below was a welcome change from all the rustling in the forest. In the distance a deep yellow moon peaked over the Atlantic Ocean, I could see this was going to be a bad night for the star trail shot I had planned. The weather forecast told me that I could count on clear skies, but it didn’t look very clear to me:

Late moonrise - Church Cove

Late moonrise - Church Cove

As I was standing around waiting for this photo to be taken, I attracted many insects that in term drew the attention of a few bats that circled above me for the remainder of the night. This all goes to show that even with less than ideal circumstances, a night hike is still a great way to have fun.