Shallow Fog on the CBC HarbourCam - St. John's

Shallow Fog on the CBC HarbourCam - St. John's

This morning I was greeted by a gorgeous webcam image of shallow fog flowing into St. John’s harbour through the Narrows. At these moments I always wish I had gotten up earlier; today I was actually awake long far before the alarm clock sounded so I should have checked the webcams right then and there.

After dropping off Marije at the OSC I walked up the Sugarloaf and into the fog. The start of the Sugarloaf Path consists of a short climb, after which you are treated to a narrow path winding through a short stretch of sharp and pointy rocks. The thick mist enveloped me whole and I couldn’t see for more than 20 metres in any direction, creating a small world shared only by me and this barren place. The whole scene reminded me of a place straight out of LOTR called Emyn Muil.

Emyn Muil - Sugarloaf Path

Emyn Muil - Sugarloaf Path

Up on top of the Sugarloaf I could finally see over the fog, there were two other hikers already there, with whom I shared a few kilometres of trail.

Top of the fog - Sugarloaf Path

Top of the fog - Sugarloaf Path

As you can see the fog had risen considerably since this morning. On the webcam image I estimate the top of the fog at some 60 metres, but when I was on top of the Sugarloaf the fog wasn’t more than 20 metres below me (making it 110 metres high).

Me - Sugarloaf Path

Me - Sugarloaf Path

As I walked down the Sugarloaf on the other side I entered the fog again and never came back out. On the way back to the car the fog had eaten all of the Sugarloaf and then some.

Near Small Point - Sugarloaf Path

Near Small Point - Sugarloaf Path