Welcome to Bell Island

Welcome to Bell Island

Well I finally made it onto the ferry today and I enjoyed myself on Bell Island on the unique trails at the northern tip near the lighthouse. The sky was very blue and the sun was bright, resulting in very dark shadows. Here are some photos:

The lighthouse - Bell Island

The lighthouse - Bell Island

Long Harry Point - Bell Island

Long Harry Point - Bell Island

Cliffs near the lighthouse - Bell Island

Cliffs near the lighthouse - Bell Island

As the temperature rose I was able to enjoy most of the day without a jacket when I arrived at the beach near Number 2 Cove. The number 2 refers to one of the mines I suppose, this island used to be the centre of Newfoundland with its major iron ore mining industry. Near Number 2 there’s a nice place called the Grebe’s Nest, it’s a secluded beach which can only be reached by kayak or by walking through a mining tunnel.

Grebe's Nest tunnel - Bell Island

Grebe's Nest tunnel - Bell Island

Here’s the tunnel now, as you can see it resembles a gaping mouth ready to snap shut with its icicle lined jaws. Had the tunnel been at beach level I would have entered it, but the short slope to the entrance was coated with a thick layer of ice from the cliffs above so I figured I would come back another time. Here’s the view from the tunnel’s mouth, looking the other way:

Iron ore beach - Bell Island

Iron ore beach - Bell Island

After this I hurried back to the ferry, there was a long line of cars there because one of the ferries is out of order. The line was so long I missed one launch and had to get on the next one.

Be patient - Bell Island

Be patient when visiting Bell Island