Spring is here, according to our alarm clock. While it is still snowing outside, in Newfoundland we have adjusted our schedule to daylight savings time. So, this week I’m only 3,5 hours behind my readers in Holland, who will catch up with me next weekend.

For everybody here this means the sun rises and sets an hour later, for me this is bad news at dawn and good news at dusk, because of the shift in traffic conditions. Soon, that situation will remedy itself when the sun really gets going and dominates most hours of the day.

Since today was the first day in a long time that I did not find any icicles hanging from our car, I’m changing gears too: I’m preparing for the coming seasons with ice on the ocean instead of on the trail. I’ve ordered a bigger photo bag that will accommodate a lot more lenses. Until now I’ve been walking around with 2 or 3 prime lenses and sometimes you miss out on opportunities because of that. The new bigger bag will hold almost everything and if it doesn’t get too heavy I’ll bring along a healthy selection of goodies on my walks when the icebergs are out, basking in the sun.

Clouds at dusk - St. John's

Clouds at dusk - St. John's