Today I tested the movie function on my wife’s camera (mine doesn’t do movies), I wanted to know what kind of quality I could get out of it so I went down to the local beach to fill up the memory card with beach and birds. Back home I quickly put together a compilation, squeezed in some transitions, slapped on a title and uploaded the resulting 5 minute masterpiece to youtube.

For those of you who don’t care that much about the intricacies of Motion JPEG compression and DCT-artifacts, please have a look at this relaxing movie with soothing waves and local wildlife. (Alternative phrasing: Would you care spending 5 minutes on this dull footage of questionable quality featuring a lot of water, rocks and gulls?).

You may want to turn down your volume because the wind noise is pretty prominent in this video: