What a great day, after a video chat with my grandparents I headed outside to enjoy the quiet cold. Since there was virtually no wind to speak of I didn’t need my gloves so I could finally hold my camera during my walk, usually when I’m using gloves I keep the camera on the tripod. Anyway, I decided a short hike was in order and I walked to Tappers Cove, which is just a few miles down the road from where we live.

On the way over there I was constantly being challenged by my shadow to go faster, it was a long way ahead of me and even uphill it kept up its relentless pace. My shadow apparently has way better stamina than I and as you can see it has also got much longer legs:

Long shadow - Torbay

Long shadow - Torbay

Around the bend I finally overtook it and I took a shot down the hill, this is Torbay on a quiet winter day:

Torbay

Torbay

At Tappers Cove I took a series of test shots. You see, everything I buy for my camera needs to pass vigorous testing, I suspected a fault in my fisheye lens and the test shots I took today confirmed it. I’m really unlucky with these things, I guess that’s just to keep everything in balance or something since we’re living in such a beautiful place.

After Tappers Cove the going got a little slippery, have a look at these stairs:

Slippery when frozen - Torbay

Slippery when frozen - Torbay

As you can see by the icicles, these steps are really treacherous. I slipped on them, fell down the stairs and when I got up again I had a searing pain in my head! Turns out I fell into an icicle!

Icicle in the head - Torbay

Icicle in the head, ouch! - Torbay

Luckily, icicles are made of water so I convinced myself that it would dry, and I’m OK now.

After the icicle incident I walked back home and took one last photo while it was getting dark:

The hidden beach - Torbay

The hidden beach - Torbay

Torbay has several beaches, this one is hidden from sight if you’re on the big beach at the end of the bay.