Well we finally got some snow in Newfoundland. It has snowed before on a few occasions but never more than an inch, yesterday it snowed all day and night so today we got plenty. I went for an early morning walk to enjoy the pristine snow cover on Cobbler Path. On the way to the trailhead I saw lots of people clearing their driveway, can’t have any of that white stuff near the house now can we. Some folks were using a machine that blew all the snow from one side of their driveway to the other, or worse yet: onto the road I was driving!

Anyway, on the trail there was a massive amount of snow. The easy part through the forest had about 20cm everywhere and it was hard to see where the trail ended and the forest started. You might think this is not a big deal but a long stretch of this path has an elevated boardwalk over a boggy marsh. Luckily I brought a trekking pole so I could poke through the snow to find out where to step next.

Out on the bare hills the going got tough, so I got going. The blowing snow had driven up the snow to over a meter on the path, I had a hard time getting through, it must have taken me at least half an hour to get through 200 metres of waist deep snow. The experience was rewarding though, I was treated to a great sunrise spectacle. Not so rewarding was the fact that my camera controls had frozen up (again). Fortunately I had brought my little point & shoot camera, which is totally weatherproof. On the way in I had inadvertently  dropped the thing while taking off a glove, it fell in the snow and rolled under the boardwalk into the freezing marsh water, I picked it up, wiped it clean and the camera kept going like nothing had happened.

Here’s some shots from this morning:

Easy part of the trail, the forest - Cobbler Path

Easy part of the trail, the forest - Cobbler Path

Leaving the forest - Cobbler Path

Leaving the forest - Cobbler Path

This picture here show a small snowdrift, leaning up to the tree on the left is snow up to my elbows. I kept to the right when passing here.

Self Portrait taken from footprint :)

Self Portrait taken from footprint 🙂

This is on the way back already, if my main camera had kept working I would have stayed longer to take some awesome shots of the sunrise. Instead I fooled around with my small point & shoot, here’s a shot taken from a footprint in snow a about 60cm deep. I think I’m buying some snowshoes soon, those will get me to where I’m going a lot quicker and easier.

My tracks in the snow - Cobbler Path

My tracks in the snow - Cobbler Path

Snowy forest - Torbay

Snowy forest - Torbay

On the way back I took this shot, in the background you can see the hills of Torbay.