I drive by Middle Cove beach every day, there is more than a beach and some waterfalls there: today I explored a bit of the forest trail. I was hoping this trail would lead all the way to Torbay, and I think it does on a normal day, but because of storm and the enduring rain these past few weeks there are some natural barriers in place at the moment. Fallen trees I can handle, small rivers too, but I’ll have to bring my overboots before I can go any further next time.

The trail is in pretty good condition nonetheless, the only thing to look out for are the slippery roots that are crisscrossing the path all along the trail, and sometimes the path leads right up to the edge of the cliffs so you have to mind your step.

Here are some shots to show you what it was like, I used my small waterproof camera, since the weather was pretty bad.

Looking back on the beach - Middle Cove

Looking back on the beach – Middle Cove

In this pic you can still see where I parked Marije’s yellow car. The next 2 shots are still very close to the beach, you get a great view on the cliffs below Marine Drive from several spots along the trail.

Marine Drive cliffs - Middle Cove

Marine Drive cliffs – Middle Cove

Marine Drive cliffs - Middle Cove

Marine Drive cliffs – Middle Cove

Further into the forest, there is a short stretch of trail that will poke you in the eye if you’re not careful.

Trees that will put your eye out - Middle Cove

Trees that will put your eye out – Middle Cove

Plenty of mushrooms cover the forest floor:

Mushrooms - Middle Cove

Mushrooms – Middle Cove

Mushroom - Middle Cove

Mushroom – Middle Cove

This is where the coastal side of the trail ended for me today, I’ll have to take Marije to these tidal pools one day, she likes those.

Tide pools - Middle Cove

Tide pools – Middle Cove

There’s a big house right next to the trail, they must have a great view. You can see it in the top left corner if this shot.

House with a view - Torbay

House with a view – Torbay

I took another route back to the car, the storm knocked down a few trees there:

Trail blockers - Middle Cove

Trail blockers – Middle Cove