The summer is officially gone if you ask me, the wind has been picking up and the colours of the land are slowly changing to hues of yellow, orange and brown. The whales have said their goodbye’s and soon even the seabirds will return to the ocean. This of course doesn’t mean I’m sad to see them go, in fact I’m relieved. The summer was far too hot for my taste and fall and winter are much more my kind of season. I’m especially looking forward to this month because my mother is visiting the island and we are taking a trip to have a look beyond the things I’ve already seen.

3 parts of Newfoundland

3 parts of Newfoundland

I’ve drawn big circles around the places we’re visiting. First stop is the smallest circle, which is the Bonavista Peninsula, where we’ll be staying near Trinity for 3 nights to see many things. The Skerwink trail is high on my list, but also the Kerley’s Harbour trail and maybe Bird Island (if there are still puffins to be seen). After that we will spend 5 nights in Gros Morne, that’s the big fat circle on the left. I’m particularly looking forward to that part of the trip because I’ve read that there are a lot of moose in Gros Morne NP, I hope we get to see a few up close! After 5 days of touring the park we will return to Avalon, the big thin circle on the right. That’s where I live and where I’ll show her all the scenery and places I’m already familiar with such as Cape Spear, Cape St. Mary’s and a big part of the East Coast Trail.

As you can see on the map there is a lot more to Newfoundland, but since we only have 2 weeks I think concentrating on these 3 spots will be more than enough to get a good idea of what it’s like here. If she would have visited us in spring or early summer, I would have taken her to see icebergs instead, which are famously easy to spot from Twillingate and St. Anthony.