While 2 weeks ago I was down and out with a sore throat and worse, the last few days it seems my wife has been stricken with the same fate. Unable to sleep at night, unable to get any work done and unable to stop coughing, I’ve been taking care of her for a week. I love having her here at home with me and I’m glad to keep her company; it does however mean that this blog is a bit empty while it could have been filled with exotic tales of close encounters of the cetacean kind.

Humpback alongside of the boat

Humpback alongside of the boat

To make this blog posting seem a little less empty here’s a close encounter from a while back, when Marije and I took a trip to see some Humpback Whales in the Witless Bay area. You can see the nostrils above the water and underwater you can see something white, that’s the whale’s right pectoral fin.

Maybe some more whales next week? Who knows.