Sea Kayak - Cape Broyle

Sea Kayak – Cape Broyle

Today, Rogier and I went sea kayaking in Cape Broyle. It was an organized trip for all experience levels, and the experience level of our group was somewhere just below sea level: exactly right for me. The enthusiastic trip guides placed every ‘couple’ into the kayaks, but because of my extra-large/extra-long size we were the last to hit the water after they squeezed me in the biggest kayak on the lot (which they called the Titanic…).

The first hour was great, we saw lots of jellyfish, urchins and starfish. But after that initial hour the little paddling engine in front of me started to sputter. It made whinging complaining noises and the only way to keep it quiet was to paddle harder myself, easing the engine with lessened stress to its systems.

Little Paddling Engine at waterfall - Cape Broyle

Little Paddling Engine Rogier – Cape Broyle

The guides showed us the inner part of the bay at Cape Broyle, which has an interesting topography. Above you can see the Roaring Falls of Destruction (don’t get too close!), a little later we passed the Caves of Certain Death and various other precarious cliffs and risky rocks along the Shoreline of Desperation.

Rogier and I were of course expecting to see otters, seals and whales, so the barren rocks did not excite us too much. Either way, in the end I was still satisfied by the kayak experience and I’m thinking of returning when the little engine gets fixed or icebergs are in the bay.

Rogier & Sander - Roaring Falls of Destruction, Cape Broyle

Rogier & Sander – Roaring Falls of Destruction, Cape Broyle