This week it occurred to me that when you try to do a great deal of things and make the most of your time, you can get yourself lost in the process.

I understand now that this is how some other people must feel from time to time about their work, but usually I’m a pretty peaceful kind of guy so all this was news to me. The past week I had all the time in the world and had the island at my feet, I witnessed every sunrise and sunset, even did some nocturnal photography. For all this trouble I am now left with fragmented memories and I’m in a bit of a dazed state.

Most afternoons I tried to get some sleep, sometimes I would come home from a morning session and go to bed at 9:00 AM (my morning sessions start at 3:00 AM), waking up in the afternoon at 3:00 PM and finding myself confused at the computer, seeing photos of lighthouses, fog, birds and whales, scratching my head asking myself ‘when did I see these things again?’. Everything is a bit of a blur when each day is split up in two smaller but equally long and taxing days.

Anyway, that’s all over and done with. I’m picking up Marije tomorrow night and will go back to my routine of one day a day. Here are some of the pictures from last week, just the snapshots to show you some of Newfoundland, I’m afraid it’s nothing you haven’t seen before:

Sleeping with one eye open - Bird Rock, Cape St. Mary's

Sleeping with one eye open - Bird Rock, Cape St. Mary's

The Northern Gannets at Bird Rock, this time with a long lens. You can see some of the birds resting, but it’s an uneasy rest. With one eye open they keep a close watch on each other, when one of the neighbors moves so much as an inch it immediately gets put back into its place by the sharp beaks of the others. I’ve even seen them very quietly stealing trivial amounts of nesting material from each other, taking the greatest care not to wake up the other birds, but somehow after a few successful attempts they forget when to stop, and they keep on snatching twigs until they’re caught and all the fury of a scorned mother-bird descends upon them.

Tourists at Bird Rock - Cape St. Mary's

Tourists at Bird Rock - Cape St. Mary's

In this shot you can see what it’s like at Cape St. Mary’s. The tourists come walking in from the parking a lot 1400 metres away and stay for a while to watch the show on the Rock from a short distance. Some of the Gannets have even started to nest off Bird Rock and on the cliffs of the Cape.

Northern Gannet - Cape St. Mary's

Northern Gannet - Cape St. Mary's

Here’s a closer shot of a Gannet, this one was not on Bird Rock but on the steep cliffs on the way to Bird Rock.

Sunset - Near Peak Pond

Sunset - Near Peak Pond

One of the week’s many gorgeous sunsets, shortly after this I was driving home on the TCH and then the sky really lit up like it was on fire. Just goes to show you should never leave before sunset is really over.

Blurred morning - Flatrock

Blurred morning - Flatrock

This shot was taken just after sunrise, about 5:15 AM on Canada Day. I was up all night that day and walking the trails of Flatrock was a very sobering bid to stay awake. It was raining and a thick fog obtructed the sun and the view of Torbay, which lies beyond the veils in the background of this shot. After this walk, I slept like a baby for 10 straight hours.

Ocean Sciences Centre - Logy Bay

Ocean Sciences Centre - Logy Bay

Normally I don’t go out of my way to shoot in the afternoon because the light is too harsh, but on the 2nd of July the fog helped out and diffused a lot of it. This is the OSC, where Marije works.

Fog train - Cuckold Head

Fog train - Cuckold Head

The thin patch of fog in the foreground went by like a train, it kept coming and coming like there was no end to it.

Fog at the lighthouse - Cape Spear

Fog at the lighthouse - Cape Spear

Most visiting tourists I saw at Cape Spear were disappointed by the fog, some of them drove all the way out to Cape Spear, just to turn around at the sight of it, don’t they know that fog clears up? By the time it took me to walk around and see everything the fog had cleared up a few times and come back again too.

Lighthouse at dusk - Cape Spear

Lighthouse at dusk - Cape Spear

This may look serene enough, but even Cape Spear has its own nocturnal culture these days. Just when I thought everyone had left and I was alone, the youth of St. John’s came speeding down the Cape Spear Drive, thinking they were part of some Newfie version of the Fast and the Furious. They revved their engines loudly, did some spins, honked their horns, and left again. Sigh.