It’s no joke: on April 1st, icebergs appeared on the horizon of the Avalon Peninsula in Newfoundland.

A week earlier we had already seen a few white objects very far away, our first ‘sightings’, but this week they came within several kilometres of our shores. The Icebergfinder website sent me an email alerting me of no less than 6 medium sized bergs (15-45 metres high) just a few hours driving away.

When I dropped off Marije after my roadtest, my heart skipped a beat when I looked onto a magnificent white giant in our own bay; several icebergs that were not spotted by icebergfinder were close to where we live in Torbay! Needless to say I explored our own bays and cliffs that first day of April.

I spent the entire day in Flatrock, the iceberg there was far out to sea but still it was an awesome sight through binoculars. The next day I drove all the way to the other side of Conception Bay and I got my first real look at a larger iceberg that was pretty close, about 1 kilometre from where I was hiking in Cavendish.

Today was another gorgeous day but unfortunately I saw no spectacular icebergs, I spotted several that I had seen earlier, but further out to sea this time. It seems they’re already leaving us, just as unexpected as they appeared.

This is just the tip of the iceberg season though, apparently these bergs were very early and the few folks I spoke to on the trail were surprised to see them in this soon in April, usually they come in May or June. Let’s take it as a good sign, more icebergs will come, and I hope they’ll float by a lot closer next time.

Here are some photos from the last few days:

Iceberg on the Flatrock horizon - Father Troy's Trail

Iceberg on the Flatrock horizon – Father Troy’s Trail

Iceberg and sea ice - Cavendish

Iceberg and sea ice – Cavendish

The ice retreats into the distance - Path to the Cape

The ice retreats into the distance – Path to the Cape