Isn’t this a great way to stay in touch? My stories are getting lots of comments and I want to thank all of you for taking the time to keep in touch, I really appreciate it! Unfortunately, I still don’t have a computer, so I can’t reply to any of your messages. I would love to expand the blog with a few additions, but since I only have my iPod for all my online activities I would rather wait for a real computer to do all that.

Until then, I’m having a great time here. I carefully watch the weather and go out whenever ‘freezing rain’ isn’t on the menu. Usually it’s ‘blowing snow’ or ‘partly sunny’ and even well below zero it’s a pleasure to go out and explore. On those few days I stay at home, I’m all set with a game console and set top box, which are both awesome.

Here’s a few pictures of yesterday, when I revisited Cape Spear at sunrise and also had a sunset walk on the Sugarloaf Path.

A spot in the sunlight

A spot in the sunlight

Much less snow than before, but at least a bit of sun on the new Cape Spear lighthouse. I found only a few faded footprints on this hillside, most of them my own from a couple of days before.

looking east

looking east

Here’s some pictorial evidence that even I stay behind the fence once in a while, especially when there is not another interesting foreground to be included.

Blackhead Road from Cape Spear

Blackhead Road from Cape Spear

This is on the return trip from Cape Spear, the snowy hills you see in the distance conceal St. John’s harbour. My shadow is still long but the good light is gone already, I get up pretty early and at 9:30 the hard work is over, the great thing about that is that nobody bothers to visit Cape Spear at these temperatures in these early moments of the day, I have the place all to myself 🙂

At sunset, just before picking up Marije at work, I walked a short stint of the Sugarloaf Path:

Sugarloaf Path

Sugarloaf Path

Sugarloaf Path ice and snow

Sugarloaf Path ice and snow

These 2 photos above are a good example of what it looks like near the Ocean Sciences Centre. As I wrote before in an earlier post, it’s hard to see where the actual path is; I just keep a point in the distance in my mind and try to make my way to it. My studded overshoes help a great deal with gripping down on the slippery ice.

The first picture looks fine to walk in, but actually the going was pretty strenuous because of variations in the snow levels; sometimes you just sink your foot right into a knee deep snowy hole. Walking in these conditions is best done at a leisurely pace.

To conclude this post I’ll just say that I’ve added two pictures of the ‘parking incident’ in the previous post at the bottom.